ISTD – mp3

P1010002P1010005P1010008P1010007

One of the 2009 ISTD (Internationally Society of Typographic Designers) briefs this year was to compare and contrast two songs typographically.

I decided to look at my parents favourite songs when they were younger, for my Dad it was U2’s Sunday Bloody Sunday and for my Mum Abba’s Dancing Queen.

I wanted to show the immense contrast between the two songs, so decided to place one book above the other so they can be read at the same time and the contrast between a cheery bright happy song could be seen against a dark song about the Bloody Sunday killings in Northern Ireland. It also gives the impression of the two opposites being as one together as a metaphor for my parents being together. (Soppy I know but it works!)

I used my parents ages when their favourite songs came out as the dimensions of the inside pages (13 and 22) and used the name “la scala’ as that was the name of the night club they met in and also means (music) scale in Italian. 🙂

May 14, 2009. Work.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI